Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers

Smoking slippers are such a classic style, and they go with just about everything. I have a few pairs in different colors, and have been wearing them more and more lately. I most often find myself reaching for them when I’m rushing to get ready and don’t quite know how to finish my outfit. They lend polish where needed, but I think they offer just a bit more edge than other slip-on shoes (I still love you, ballet flats!).

I’m absolutely obsessed with these, these and these, but, alas, C. Wonder is no longer in business, and the Miu Miu and Marc Jacobs flats are waaaaay out of my price range. So, to hold me over until I win the lottery and leave all you suckers in the dust, I decided to try making my own version using the C. Wonder Evil Eye design for inspiration. They turned out even better than I thought they would, and I may now be addicted to ironing vinyl onto things. But I’m pretty sure I can quit anytime I want to…

See the full tutorial and list of materials after the jump!

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Materials:

  • Black or Navy Blue Smoking Slippers
    I found mine at H&M for less than $10, but had to size up because their shoes run a bit small.
  • Gold Iron-on Vinyl
    Mine is from Happy Crafters – they have a few different gold vinyl options, but I chose Gold Medal Shine.
  • Flat Iron
    If you have an old flat iron that still works, that is ideal for this project. I opted to use my Chi and just be very very careful, but if you don’t want to risk ruining your flat iron, don’t follow my example 🙂
  • X-ACTO Knife
  • Pencil
  • Not Pictured: Scrap Paper, Scrap Cloth, Old Magazine or Catalog, Tape

Step 1: Prep the shoes.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Because you’ll be using a flat iron to adhere the vinyl to the top of the shoes, you’ll definitely want to protect the inner toe surface from the heat that’ll be emitted from the other side of the flat iron. Insert scraps of fabric into the toe box and leave about a quarter of an inch hanging over the edge.  I chose scraps of muslin I had hanging around, but if I could do this step all over again I would have picked something slightly thicker for the inside of the shoes to better protect the plastic lining (mine warped slightly).


 

Step 2: Create a stencil.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend WorkshopGrab a scrap of printer paper and sketch out your design. Try to create an image that consists of only one piece. This will end up looking more streamlined when you cut it out, and will be easier to place on each shoe.

imageWhen you are satisfied with your masterpiece, grab an old catalog (this will be your cutting surface) and tape the sketch down. I used washi tape because it’s super easy to peel up when finished cutting.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Using your X-ACTO knife, carefully cut along your pencil marks, applying firm pressure and turning the catalog when necessary to get a better angle. (This is the part where you’ll be glad you taped that paper down!)

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop


Step 3: Cut the vinyl.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Tape down a small corner or edge of your stencil to stabilize it while you carefully cut around the edges.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

When you’ve cut all but the area under the tape, carefully hold your stencil in place, lift the tape and move it to another area, then cut the edge that was previously under the tape.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

If you make a mistake, it’s no big deal! Just move your stencil and try again. It’s hard to see in the photo above, but I originally started cutting out the closed eyelashes from the center of the vinyl square. I slipped and it wasn’t fixable, so I just moved the stencil and started over!


 

Step 4: Iron the vinyl.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Position the vinyl cutout where you want it on the top of your shoe.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend WorkshopCover it with a scrap piece of cloth, being careful not to let the vinyl slide around.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend WorkshopGrab your flat iron and clamp it down over the vinyl and cloth. Slowly move it back and forth over the entire vinyl piece for about 45 seconds. Make sure the cloth inside of the shoe is keeping the other side of your flat iron from touching the actual shoe, or you may end up with an unpleasant smell and some melted plastic on your flat iron.

When the 45 seconds is up, lift the scrap cloth and check to make sure every edge of the vinyl piece has adhered to the shoe. If not, cover again with the cloth and press for a few more seconds on the spots that are not attached.


 

Step 5: Remove the plastic.

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

Once both shoes have fully cooled, carefully peel back the protective plastic cover to reveal the shiny gold chic-ness underneath!

Gold Embellished Smoking Slippers: My Weekend Workshop

*WINK*

These flirty flats were the perfect thing to wear for a date night with G at our favorite Mexican restaurant! How did your smoking slippers turn out? I’d love to hear about what you worked on this weekend in the comments below!

 

XO, Sarah

 

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18782537/?claim=6au8evmd8ng”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

